CyclingEdinburgh.info

2,000,000 Views and a New Web Site Too

Posted by chdot on April 26, 2009

dannnymacaskillcom

A week ago Danny MacAskill was a name known to his friends, family, some customers in Macdonald’s Cycle Centre (where he used to work), a few of the people who have seen him working with The Clan Team and those in the BMX/skate/Trials Bike scene (mainly in Edinburgh).

Now due to the Internet (YouTube in particular) – and the filming and editing skills of flatmate Dave Sowerby – he is known to millions around the world.

Two million hits in a week is far from common. Danny is still coming to terms with this unexpected ‘fame’. One small result is his own web site and also a few interviews and intriguing offers of work.

As he says in his first blog entries –

“What a week!

“The last few days have been a blur!

“The response I’ve had to the video has been amazing!

“I never expected to get anywhere near the reaction it has. I hoped that other riders would like the video, and maybe a few riders outside trials, but when people started contacting me about interviews for TV and things it was crazy.

“I didn’t expect to get my own site and it’s pretty weird feeling, but thought it would be a good place to put news and new videos.

“I can’t say thanks enough to all the people who have commented on the video or contacted me, it’s definitely motivated me to push my riding and videos even more.”

One Response to “2,000,000 Views and a New Web Site Too”

  1. jacquiephelan said

    Yay Danny!

Leave a Reply

 
